O. Henry House Museum Austin, TX
409 East Fifth Street
Austin, TX 78701
+1 512 472 1903http://www.ci.austin.tx.us/parks/ohenry.htmNo
Wed to Sun from 12:00 PM to 05:00 PM
Short story writer William Sydney Porter, whose pen name was O. Henry, lived in this home for three years while he spent time in Austin. It was constructed in 1891 and is filled with rare books, O. Henry's writing desk, original furniture, photographs, personal belongings and the chairs that brought The Gift of the Magi to life. Enjoy a guided tour and learn about the history of this home and its famous occupant. The home has been moved twice since from its original location at 308 East Fourth Street. It now features a gift shop with books, videotapes and more. The museum offers writing clubs for Austin children and sponsors many local events such as the Victorian Christmas celebration and the "O. Henry Pun-Off." Admission is free, but donations are welcome.
Copyright © 1999-2009 wcities.com All rights Reserved - Contact wcities to report incorrect information